Happy New Year!

A short post to welcome in 2013. It’s been a relatively quiet Christmas and New Year, with only a few small flares and a few bouts of fatigue. Overall, the PR has been kind to me in 2012, and I’m hoping it will continue along in this vein for 2013.

Of course, it would be amazing if it became completely dormant during this year, but I know that’s probably too much to ask. As it is, the pain is troublesome, but mostly bearable, and the fatigue sporadic enough to allow me to keep enjoying life.

I have no particular new year’s resolutions, though there are a few things I’d like to do more of (and some, less of) in 2013.

  • I’ve bought a juicer and would like to consume more fresh fruit and vegetable juices. Still have not found any conclusive links between any food and my flares or fatigue, but I’ll continue to keep my sugar intake to a minimum. It’s healthier all round, even if it isn’t definitely linked to the PR in any way.
  • I would like to keep up doing yoga nidras (a special type of relaxing meditation that both energises AND relaxes me) and do them more often than I have been doing.
  • I keep meaning to write a post on ‘the right kind of rest’ and hopefully I’ll get round to doing that sooner in 2013 than later!
  • I also hope to be as consistent with my zumba classes as I was in 2012 – making at least one class a week.

The thing I’m looking forward to the most this year in terms of work will be co-facilitating a course for people with long-term health conditions. Called Living Well with a Long-term Condition it will be a 12 week (free) course based in south Manchester. We hope to have up to 15 participants and what we’ll cover will be totally dependent on the people taking part. This means that I can’t design a course or curriculum before the course starts,  but I’m looking forward to the challenge.  Contact me if you live locally and would like to take part.

Happy 2013!

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. and may be then you can do a week end workshop in London? I am at the end of my tether with the migraines. i have now decided to go on a strict elimination diet (based on Lancet research) for 2 months. i am now not eating: all cereal grains and that includes rice 😦 , all cow products, all cane sugar ( i have honey and agave) , eggs, all citrus (the hardest of all is the lemon i consume loads of it), yeast, tea and coffee (Very hard), and a third of the diet has to be raw. it has been a week now and i am feeling my energy increasing,lets see f it will stop the migraines |FOR EVER

  2. I hope your workshop goes really well – it sounds like a great idea! (I don’t live locally but just wanted to say, ‘Well done you!’) 🙂

Leave a Reply

